Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   New Ctenopoma acutirostre project, planted tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/new-ctenopoma-acutirostre-project-planted-tank-31623/)

Jago 11-03-2009 06:48 AM

New Ctenopoma acutirostre project, planted tank

I'm buying a new tank thats about 160 liters and I am wanting to have it planted for Ctenopoma acutirostre, hoping to have about six juveniles introduced to the tank at the same time as i have learned this is the best way. I understand this fish is from the congo river basin and likes a heavily planted tank and this is the reason for my post, i know very little about planted tanks and this is my first project and want to know the best substrate to the the best filtration and media plus the right plants to use for there natural habitat, I've heard from the size of tank I might get away with just lighting with no CO2 but please tell me different if i am wrong.
Please I would be very happy to hear from anyones input that know more than me as I plan to take my time with this project and get it wright the first time round 8)

Byron 11-03-2009 01:12 PM

Hi Jago,