Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Coral and Reef Creatures (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/coral-reef-creatures/)
-   -   FRAGS, need help please (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/coral-reef-creatures/frags-need-help-please-30958/)

terryap 10-22-2009 05:26 AM

FRAGS, need help please

Hi

I am new to saltwater and have a question about frags, I am thinking of buying pulsing Xena frags and zoanthyd polyp frags from a private seller, is there any cons or dangers in buying frags or any special advice I should know about :mrgreen:??

thanks

Kellsindell 10-22-2009 07:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by terryap (Post 261555)
Hi

I am new to saltwater and have a question about frags, I am thinking of buying pulsing Xena frags and zoanthyd polyp frags from a private seller, is there any cons or dangers in buying frags or any special advice I should know about :mrgreen:??

thanks

There are pro's and con's to both from the seller and from a vendor.
First are the concerns. What lighting do you have and how many watts? How much flow do you have and what type of filtration? What size is the tank and how old is it and what are your water parameters? SG, phosphates, nitrates, and so forth.