Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   20gallon Fresh Water Tank opinions (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/20gallon-fresh-water-tank-opinions-30911/)

Hawkins20 10-21-2009 03:53 AM

20gallon Fresh Water Tank opinions

As of now I have

1 albino bichir
1 Elephant nose
1 Black ghost knife
1 Black moor
1 Gold molly
2 angel fish
1 chinese algea eater

This is all in a 20 gallon tank
and I am wondering how long it will take these fish to grow bigger
so I know when i'll need to purchase a larger tank. ??
Please help me out I am a rookie to this

Lupin 10-21-2009 04:15 AM

I would upgrade the tank now or rehome them if I were you. The combination is completely mismatched.

Albino bichir-Minimum of 30g for Polypterus senegalus. Predatory by nature and can reach 12 inches in length.
Elephant nose-Incompatible with BGK. A 30g should be minimum.
Black ghost knife-Incompatible with elephant nose. A 120g is minimum.
Black moor-Incompatible with all your fish. This is a coldwater species and can reach 10-12 inches as well.
Gold molly-Compatible only with angelfish. Fits well in 20g.
Angel fish-A pair is best kept in a 30g minimum. Compatible with mollies and BGK only.
Chinese algae eater-Incompatible with all fish. These are belligerent and can reach 10 inches max.

MoneyMitch 10-21-2009 04:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lupin (Post 261037)
I would upgrade the tank now or rehome them if I were you. The combination is completely mismatched.

Albino bichir-Minimum of 30g for Polypterus senegalus. Predatory by nature and can reach 12 inches in length.
Elephant nose-Incompatible with BGK. A 30g should be minimum.
Black ghost knife-Incompatible with elephant nose. A 120g is minimum.