Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Catfish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/)
-   -   Would this work as a QT tank for cory catfish? + other questions (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/would-work-qt-tank-cory-catfish-308706/)

KeshiaB 11-24-2013 10:55 PM

Would this work as a QT tank for cory catfish? + other questions

I'm getting 4 dwarf cories* in January to add to my 32 litre tank (currently home to a single male bettta) and was wondering if something like this would work as a good quarantine tank:

http://www.bunnings.com.au/willow-28l-snap-lock-storage-box_p2581094

Would I need to get a filter for the container or can I just do water changes?

My current tank has been going through a silent cycle with the betta since September (not ideal I know but I'm a noob and has NO idea about cycling until stumbling across this forum) so it should be established by January and I'll have some filter media with beneficial bacteria. I'd also like to add some ghost shrimp a month or so after the cories.

Also, my tank is planted and has smooth gravel as substrate, I've read that cories prefer sand so should I add some on top of my gravel? My gravel is white and I'm not sure if you can buy white aquarium sand...

*if I can actually find some in Melbourne!

keepsmiling 11-25-2013 05:52 AM

28 litres is just over 7 gallons. If you get one a bit bigger it would be best. And yes you can use a container to qt. Yes you should use a filter. A sponge filter with an air pump will work. What will you do if the betta does not like tank mates?
If you add sand over gravel it will fall through.If you want a sand substrate, remove the fish to a container{be sure to cover or keep water level very low in a large container}, take out the gravel and replace with sand.Yes white sand is available that is safe for freshwater aquariums.