Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Need advice about moving fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/need-advice-about-moving-fish-307/)

Oceane 08-25-2006 03:29 PM

Need advice about moving fish
 
I want to move my angelfish (5)to a bigger that has been cycling for a while, watwer parameters now perfect. Should i move them one at at time or can i put all of them in together?

Nick 08-25-2006 03:35 PM

The way I moved my fish from my 10 gallon to 55 gallon is I just netted them, and since the tank was only 10 feet away from the 10 gallon, I just netted them and carried them from one tank to the other and plopped them in. But, you could net them, then get them in a bag with some tank water in it and blow it up with some air and let one float at a time like that so they dont get to stressed....

Oceane 08-25-2006 03:46 PM

Thanks for the answering so quickly:?: I was worried that moving 5 two inch fish to a tank would would upset the water balance. I have had them for nearly a year now and am not prepared to lose any.

SimplySplendid 08-25-2006 03:56 PM

Or, depending on how big the angels are, if you don't want to stress them very much you could use a net and a drinking glass or jar, and chase them into the glass/jar so that they would never be out of water :)
Like this

http://www.fishforum.com/userpix/46_movingfish_1.jpg

girlofgod 08-25-2006 11:13 PM

lol...cute idea! ^_^

jsm11482 08-26-2006 12:33 PM

haha nice drawing brie!

Tracy 08-27-2006 12:06 AM

Move them with a net or like the 'cute' drawing (lol); making sure the water temperature is the same. If you are worried about the water/bacteria balance, use some bacteria supplement (like Cycle or Stability) until your fish are settled. I hope this is good advice; I have never 'cycled' a tank w/o fish in it, but I use the bottled 'bacteria' products every time I upgrade to a larger tank, or change my gravel etc., and I have NEVER had fish loss. :)

Nick 08-27-2006 01:36 AM

I would not recommend using any chemicals. As to many chemicals can be bad for the fish...Just a thought if you were thinking of using bactera products. IMO if you are in that much of a rush that you can have the tank cycled than its not ready to move at all.

SimplySplendid 08-27-2006 01:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jsm11482
haha nice drawing brie!

I know--I'm an artist! :D :P


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2