Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   Redish type algae?? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/redish-type-algae-3042/)

notsonewguy 02-04-2007 03:32 PM

Redish type algae??

Obviously i'm a noob, Just set up a 10 gal tank about 1-2 months ago. my levels were all great. I only have 4 black tetras, and i recently decided to get rid of my fake plants and introduce real plants. I purchased a couple of Cabomba plants, added a nice touch to the tank, but recently I noticed some algae growth on the glass, it has a redish/purplish color. a couple days later i noticed it was worse than i thought, the algae is growing on my pump and starting to show on the gravel, I do regular 20% water changes every 2 weeks. changing my filter every opposite weekend. I also did a recent test that informed me my Nitrites are way too high, last test was 10!!!!!!!!!!!! am doing another water change ASAP!!!! fish seem perfectly fine and happy though. any ideas of what i should do? I have also noticed some uneaten food throughout the tank and am considering getting a few bottom feeders...but not sure if its safe to do so. Also, I have a buddy who has had fish for a very long time and he just adds distilled water to the tank when it evaporates and thats it, no water changes or testing at all...I on the other hand prefer to do water changes because his method didnt work for me, for my water changes should i be using distilled water? without adding anything to it? or should i try tap water with properly added chemicals? I just dont know what to do, this fish stuff is more frustrating that i originally thought, Any suggestions would be great. thanks for your time. if more info is needed i'll be more than happy to supply it. My 'better' half has already offered t