Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   my guppies are hiding behind the filter (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/my-guppies-hiding-behind-filter-30383/)

emmers 10-10-2009 11:12 PM

my guppies are hiding behind the filter

I am a college student who has just recently started an aquarium in her dorm room. I am really new to this and wanted to join a forum like this for advice.

My aquarium is 5.5 gallons (the largest i could fit in my dorm room)

there are links to view a couple of pictures of it in my signature.

I have a filter, bubbler, grave (plus some decorative rocks), 3 plastic plants, and a grayish background. I was told I would not need a heater (my tank has stayed at 72-74 degrees).

Currently I have 4 female guppies and I plan on getting a snail once algae starts to grow in the aquarium.

My first question is that my guppies keep on hiding behind the filter (not an under gravel filter, but one that hangs on the side of the tank). I am not sure why they keep on hiding there. I added them to the tank about 2 days ago (after having the tank set up for a few days) and they were swimming around and checking out the tank a lot at first and playing in the bubbles and stuff, now they are just hiding behind the filter and I can't see them.

What should I do?

*edit*
another thing I was wondering is what sort of snail is the best? and also not too expensive, i am a college student :)

MoneyMitch 10-11-2009 02:04 AM

turn the light off for a day or two and let them get used to their new home. the water temp should also prob be a lil higher lik 75 79.

molliefan09 10-11-2009 09:54 AM