Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   My filter is killing my fish, suggestions? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/my-filter-killing-my-fish-suggestions-29935/)

Russell Crowe 10-01-2009 09:03 PM

My filter is killing my fish, suggestions?

I have a beta, two mollies and now only 3 neon tetras because of my filter. The smallest fish are getting sucked into the filter when I am not looking. I can't be there to watch them all the time. Is there an attachment I could get to fix this problem? There is obviously a way to fix this problem I just don't know how. BTW I am a poor college student so the cheaper way to fix the problem the better. Solutions?

fighttest 10-01-2009 09:12 PM

you could fit an aquarium filter sponge onto the filter intake or find a very porous sponge to fit onto it

MikeyG 10-01-2009 09:23 PM

Get something like this:

Amazon.com: Hagen Fluval Edge Pre-Filter Sponge: Kitchen & Dining

or just go to the fish store and ask for a prefilter sponge to put over your filter intake. That should do the trick.

Russell Crowe 10-01-2009 10:07 PM

Thanks guys I will go to the pet store tomorrow and fix this problem asap. Thanks again.

Fishin Pole 10-02-2009 12:24 PM

you could also take a piece of pantyhose material and rubberband it on the end of the intake of your filter.....This slows the flow down a bit, but then the suction is not as strong for the tetras if they swim close to it.......every few days you will have to remove it to allow the filter to suck up the debris trapped against it, then you can put it right back on.............I use this method in my one fry tank and havent lost a fish yet.........

Calmwaters 10-02-2009 01:13 PM