Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   New to forum and starting my very first aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/new-forum-starting-my-very-first-298833/)

katiegirl226 11-07-2013 10:27 AM

New to forum and starting my very first aquarium

1 Attachment(s)
Hello folks! I'm brand new to this hobby! My almost three year old son is fascinated by fish so my husband and I thought it would be fun for him and a great learning tool (son is autistic). I'm excited to start and have been doing research for the last couple weeks. Thought it would be helpful to join a forum and get help from those of you who have been doing this for a while. I hope I've come to the right place.

So far, I've purchase a 20 gallon starter kit (top fin from Petsmart) and set it up. I want to keep community fish (some tetras, danios, a gourami, and some sort of cory cat or algae eater). I hope my tank can accommodate this. I'm going to do a fish cycle of the tank with 2-3 danios (not sure if 2 vs. 3 makes a difference??) I have read about a fishless cycle and that its more humane, but my son keeps looking for the fish so therefore, the danios. I know I will only be able to add fish very slowly after the cycle is done, but that is okay.

Am I on the right track? Do any of you have some good suggestions on how to stock a community tank of 20 gallons? I definitely don't want to overstock it and want easy fish until I am comfortable at maintaining a stable environment. Thanks!

jaysee 11-07-2013 11:19 AM

Welcome to the forum