Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Troubleshooting Diatoms..please help. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/troubleshooting-diatoms-please-help-298009/)

xfatdannx 11-05-2013 06:31 PM

Troubleshooting Diatoms..please help.

So i have been fighting diatoms for the last 2 months. I have re planted with faster growing plants, i have changed lighting, and i have changed feeding sched. Lets assume i haven't done a thing yet and please suggest what to check first and i will try to figure it out.

ammonia - 0ppm
nitrite - 0ppm
nitrate - 20ppm (2 days from weekly w/c)
phosphates - 0
i did not check the ph but it should be around 6.8ish as i run co2 daily (on the light timer)
2 t5ho bulbs (5000k and 6500k) run together for about 6 - 6.5 hrs a day
20 gal tall
8 phantom tetras
2 german blue rams
plants: Italian Val, Madagascar lace, Ozelot Sword, Moneywort, Bacopa, Crypt Parva, and Crypt Spiralis
2 HOB filters one is the aquaclear 20 gal filter the other is the aqueon quite flow 10
i have 2 root tabs (one under madagascar lace one under ozelot sword)
feed them once per day, spektrum new life pellets, usually gone in under 30 seconds

let me know where you would check first, thank you!!!!

Boredomb 11-05-2013 06:50 PM

Silicates in your tap water??

xfatdannx 11-06-2013 01:48 AM

is there a way for me to test that? guy at the LFS also suggested going R/O...thoughts or comments?

xfatdannx 11-26-2013 07:11 AM

before going R/O i am trying one other thing. I have been told that i may have too low Co2 and should start my Co2 before i start my lights. Now my Co2 will come on an hour and a half before my lights, thus making an even shorter period in which the lights are on but Co2 is not at optimum levels.