Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   NEED HELP!! NOOB HERE! please. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/need-help-noob-here-please-29152/)

serge 09-17-2009 07:44 PM

NEED HELP!! NOOB HERE! please.

Ok I have started buying a bunch of stuff to setup a new aquarium.

I have some questions

1. I bought a fluval 205 40 gallon canister filter, but i have a 36 gallon bowfront tank. Just today i found out that ur supposed to have a filter rated 10 gallons over ur size?!? Am I fine with the fluval 205 or what??

2. I would like to setup live plants, can they be setup in just gravel or sand only? what is the proper way to put plants in? Is it hard to maintain plants?

3. The most important thing im trying to figure out is the lighting! Im trying to buy a lighting fixture. I want a really bright one, preferably be able to change colors on it, and somewhere under $100? please name some good brands for me if possible

ALSO I NEED SOME SIZE HELP!

The length of my 36 gallon bowfront is " 30 1/4" inches. What size is the lighting fixture supposed to be then??? is a 30 inch one fine??? or does it have to be exact size?

really confused

PLEASE HELP ME IF YOU CAN!

thank you

fighttest 09-17-2009 11:20 PM

Your fine with a fluval 205. iv never heard of that rule but it sounds like a good one to follow. When you get your filter whether it be a fluval 205 or not don’t put carbon in it, as this will remove some of the nutrients used by the plants.