Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Help my Nitrite/Nitrate is up... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/help-my-nitrite-nitrate-up-28844/)

Calmwaters 09-11-2009 03:21 PM

Help my Nitrite/Nitrate is up...
 
The readings on my test kit (API Kit) are ph 7.2, AM 0, Nitrite 1, Nitrate 10 this is on the 10 gall tank at the office I recently set up. How much water do I need to take out to fix it. The fish are not acting sickk or anything yet so I want to fix it before it hurts them. There are 3 cory cats, 3 playts, one swordtail, and a snail in there.

Calmwaters 09-11-2009 03:52 PM

I took out 2 gallons would that be enough? Also I don't have water in my office and have to carry it from the gas station next door, could I just buy a couple of gallons a week to use? If so I know distilled water is out but what about sping water? Also should I retest now or wait a couple of hours to check.

Twistersmom 09-11-2009 07:13 PM

Nitrates of 10 ppm is fine, but I try to keep both ammonia and nitrites under .25 ppm.
With 1 ppm nitrite, ideally you would need to change out 75% to lower it to .25 ppm.
Where did you get the water, that you used to fill the tank? You do not want to do a large water change with different water. If the newly added water is much different in ph and gh, it will be to hard on the fish to do a large water change and in that case, daily small changes would be better.
Do they have a sink at work, where you could fill up a bucket or water jug?

Gav 09-11-2009 07:39 PM

Always use water conditioner (will remove metals and other substances that are harmful to the fish). Also test the water you are going to put in the tank if you don't think it is ok. Sorry to go against what you said Twistersmom but I prefer to keep ammonia and nitrIte at 0 or as close as possible. Is the tank planted?

How long has the tank been set up and what kind of filtration are you using?

NitrIte works on fish the same way corbon monoxide effects us and ammonia burns the fish.

Twistersmom 09-11-2009 07:55 PM

No, I do not disagree, That is why I asked where she got the water to fill the tank. I would use that same water, when doing the large water change.


Calmwaters, you can use you filter media from home to seed the work tank cycle. You will still need to do the water change to lower the nitrite.

Gav 09-11-2009 08:22 PM

Thats good, I didn't want to offend anyone as I am still a 'newbie' to this forum, old filter media is the best way to go when setting up a new tank hence the filtration question. I prefer not to clean the filter media during the first month (at least) of cycling unless it is necessary, but I make sure water changes are done as often as possible.

Twistersmom 09-11-2009 09:27 PM

Totally agree Gav. I will use the same filter for months if I can. Not only is it better for your cycle, its better on the pocket book.

High nitrites can definitely kill your fish, sudden changes in ph can also kill your fish, so use caution if getting water from another source.

1077 09-12-2009 12:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Calmwaters (Post 241662)
The readings on my test kit (API Kit) are ph 7.2, AM 0, Nitrite 1, Nitrate 10 this is on the 10 gall tank at the office I recently set up. How much water do I need to take out to fix it. The fish are not acting sickk or anything yet so I want to fix it before it hurts them. There are 3 cory cats, 3 playts, one swordtail, and a snail in there.

As I recall this is the ten gal at work that you set up for one betta with the help of used filter from your tank at home. I also understand the betta has since died? Then ,seven fish were added?Ttoo many fish ,too soon ,for beneficial bacteria to keep up with. This has in my view ,caused elevated nitrite level. I agree with water changes to lower the nitrites and would use tapwater from sink at work or sink at home along with water conditioner such as PRIME or AMQUEL+ these two products detoxify ammonia,chlorine,and chloramines along with nitrites. If you have no sink at work ,then bring the tapwater from home in gallon jugs for use in the aquarium.

Calmwaters 09-14-2009 09:48 AM

I have no sink at work but the gas station that is connected to the same buliding I am in let me carry water from there in gallon jugs. I used the same water when I did the water change. I came in on Saturday to check on them and did another water check and everything is ok now. The Betta I had had for a while and he was deformed when I got him but I did not take him back just because he was not perfect just gave him the best home I could for the 6 months he was with me. When I set up this tank I used the filter media from home, bacteria supplement and gravel from established tank that Betta had been in. I think I may have been feeding them to much and that is what got the levels messed up. I am going to cut back to once a day feedings intead of twice a day and see if that will help control it as well as the weekly water changes. Thank you all for your help.

Calmwaters 09-14-2009 11:15 AM

I wanted to add I also used the Prime water conditioner that 1077 told me about, today they are swimming around like normal so I hope everything will be ok. I will continue to check levels and do water changes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2