Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   After 16 years, it's coming to an end ... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/after-16-years-its-coming-end-2814/)

NewBee 01-28-2007 06:14 AM

After 16 years, it's coming to an end ...

Hi Fish Lovers,
My name is Derek and I am new to your site. I have been rearing a pair of Shubunkins for the past 16 years. The male passed away some 6 years ago, but the beautiful 'lady' is now about to join her partner. :(
Unfortunately 'lady' has been very sick for the past week, sinking to the bottom of the bowl and not interested in food anymore. Parts of her fins and long beautiful tail is darkening; so is part of body scales - I take it that there is no longer blood circulation to those parts. She has been gasping for awhile now and it hurts to see her suffering. I am therefore looking at euthanasia to end her suffering. After reading thru the 'best' option of instantaneously clubbing it with one swift blow, I find that very very difficult to carry out, esp. to a pet that I've grown to love over the past 16 years.
So can some one please advise me an alternative option - I have thought of dropping her into ice cold freezing water, or even perhaps apply clover oil first, then drop her gently into the ice-cold freezing water.
I'm desperate to end her suffering but can not carry out the clubbing act.
Any response urgently would be gratefully appreciated.
Thank you.
Derek :cry:

Lauri 01-28-2007 06:45 AM

First let me say welcome to fishforum glad you could join us. I am very sorry to hear about your fish I can only imagine your pain having to see her like that after keeping her for so long. There is some information here http://www.fishforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=943 that may help you.