Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   I need Help/advice on a 25G cichlid tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/i-need-help-advice-25g-cichlid-2771/)

The_New_Guy 01-26-2007 12:19 AM

I need Help/advice on a 25G cichlid tank

Firstly, I feel it is important to mention that I am completely new to caring for an aquarium.

I am trying to attempt putting together a stable African cichlid tank.

Here’s what I’m working with:

- 25G glass rectangular tank
- 2 x “Aquaclear 50” 3 stage power filters (sponge, coal and bio-max inserts)
- 20w Aqua-glow T8 fluo light
- 150w fully submersible heater
- 45lbs of what the pet store guy called Cichlid rock
- Plenty of Cichlid aragonite
- Gravel

I have already set up everything and have had a goldfish living in there to test the water. It’s been there about two weeks and looks healthier than the day I got it. There also seems to be brown and green stains all over my rock.

I have a few specific questions but feel free to comment about anything:

1-What type of Cichlids should I (Could I) go for with my relatively small 25G tank?
-What about an algae eating fish?

2-I heard that I should overstock my tank? Is this true? If so, what would be overstocking for a 25G cichlid tank?

3-What are the important factors I really have to consider with my tank? How often do I have to test and for what? How often should change my filter media? and my water?

4-Are there any special products I need to use for cichlids (water additives, feeding)?

5-How many should i first introduce? Should my goldfish be disposed of before hand?

http://i161.photobucket.com/albums/t...r/IMG_3531.jpg[/url]

Lupin 01-26-2007 02:09 AM

Welcome.:wave: