Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Can you get a faulty test kit? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/can-you-get-faulty-test-kit-27360/)

SubAtomicScope 08-16-2009 06:36 AM

Can you get a faulty test kit?
 
As posted in a previous posting, I have FINALLY managed to get Multi-Test kit for my tanks and my Ammonia and Nitrites are testing 0 in all three tanks (Transparent solution corresponding to a 0 reading).
Is there any way of testing the reagent solution to find out if is is not faulty? I cannot say I have much faith in my cycling ability...LOL

willow 08-16-2009 06:58 AM

hi
i guess you could just test your tap water,as i belive some people get readings
of amonia from that.

sorry i ment to ask also what is the reading for nitrAtes ?

SubAtomicScope 08-16-2009 07:17 AM

Actually, now that you mention it I dont think the test has a Nitrate test...only a pH, Ammonia, Temporary Hardness, Permanent Hardness, Nitrite and manybe one other, but I dont think it is a Nitrate test...I would check for you but I am at work now for 48 hours...

willow 08-17-2009 01:04 PM

it's good that the reading for nitrite and amonia are 0
if you can get another test kit which included nitrate that will be good.
nitrates below 20 is what you want.

MoneyMitch 08-17-2009 01:08 PM

just get a cup of water throw in some food let it sit overnight and then test it if you get clean readings theres something wrong.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2