Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cyprinids and Atherinids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cyprinids-atherinids/)
-   -   4 danios, is this normal? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cyprinids-atherinids/4-danios-normal-2703/)

Andyandsue 01-23-2007 03:56 PM

4 danios, is this normal?

Hello.

New 3 gallon tank 2 weeks ago with 4 danios, 2 zebra, 2 gold in color. Everything is going fine, except one zebra danio is nuts! He chases the smaller one constantly. It looks like the smaller one is trying to hide and the larger one actually seeks he/she out to chase. There is no fin nipping from what I can see, but constant chasing with bumping. Is one planning on laying eggs, or is the larger one just playing tank-boss, or is it really aggressive behavior? Maybe it's normal, but it doesn't look it. Not compared to the other danios I have, but this is my first time.

I've read danios like to be kept in odd numbers, but with a 3 gallon tank I'm not sure I should be adding another.

The water readings are fine (ammonia/nitires=0 nitrates between 0-5), lights on in the AM, off in the PM. Not sure why this one is so aggressive.

Any advice is highly appreciated! I want them to be happy.

girlofgod 01-23-2007 04:30 PM

it's normal to be worried, but this is completely normal behaviour for danios. they are crazy fish! i had several and it seemed to me that they never slept, only chased each other around all the time. the more you have, the better, (depending on your tank size, you don't want to overstock)because they will establish a pecking order among themselves. hope this helps. enjoy!

bri

Andyandsue 01-23-2007 05:10 PM