Tropical Fish Keeping banner

I am new to this and I have no idea what to do and what I need to start my tank

2K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  BWG 
#1 ·
This is what i have.A 25 gallon Octagon tank , filter that hangs over the back, heater, stick on thermometer, 25 pounds of gravel, light and hood ,tropical fish flakes, siphoning hose, a ornamental log. A friend is going to give me 3 gold mystery snails. My tank is set up and running (4 days) I want to get something like the black widow tetra I saw them at the pet store and like them. Please help me. Do I put salt in the water? I know the fish I want are not saltwater fish but some sites say to put some salt in the water. Do I need to put a air pump in the water? The tank is in a corner no window around it.
Posted via Mobile Device

#2 ·
Study up on the nitrogen cycle before you add fish. Save you and your fish a hard time. Basics- Fish exhale and excrete pure ammonia, which will kill them in short order. With an ammonia source , bacteria will grow that makes the water safe. Ask here if you have questions.

#3 ·
I would recommend you try a planted tank.

my .02

#4 ·
Hi and welcome to Tropical fish Keeping,

As marshallsea has said you need to learn how the nitrogen cycle works so you can cycle the tank before adding fish (the preferred method). Here is a an article that explains a little.
http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/...nners-guide-freshwater-aquarium-cycle-213418/

Here is one on the Bactria in the aquarium if you want to read a lil more on them. http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-general-articles/bacteria-freshwater-aquarium-185721/
If you want to do live plants we can explain that too and it is easier then one my think. The plants do some much for the health of the tanks and the fish in them. Is your choice and your tank. So you can any direction and we will be here to help you along the way if you have questions.

#12 · (Edited)