Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Nano Reef (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/nano-reef/)
-   -   Help with 10 gallon saltwater tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/nano-reef/help-10-gallon-saltwater-tank-26928/)

ScottAndChris 08-05-2009 11:04 PM

Help with 10 gallon saltwater tank

Alright my turn!:-D Well I'm really new at this whole saltwater aquarium thing and I need some questions answered, this is the first forum I've ever been on by the way, although my brother (scott) has been on a few. Any the who I have a 10 gallon tank and its my first aquarium, I've read a bit about them and theres alot more than I thought about it. I have six fish that I made shure were small and rather hardy but its starting to get crowded and I'm getting a 20 gallon tank soon, we're on a very low budget if you havn't noticed. I've made some goofy mistakes already and I'd prefer not to make any more so any tips would be a big help, luckily the worst thats happened is I had to take back a domino damsel because he was being a meany. I learned recently that I am supposed to turn the light off, I didn't before because my yellowtail damsel turned pale and sickly and I got nervous, I also had a spike in the amonia level and I'm working on keeping that down, I used some Ammo-Lock and reduced feeding I'm guessing thats because of the high number of fish so early (it's only about a month old tank.) I was looking at getting live rock and sand for my new tank but I don't know much about it or how to take care of it and how my fish will react to it. My current fish look pretty good but i hear they can go without many simptoms. I was also wondering why you need a blue light (I've heard you do) in your aquarium, I have one but it makes half my tank look dark and boring. I was also looking at a shrimp to get later on and im not shure what they need. Will 20 gallons be enou