Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   Who's the Discus expert here at FF.com?? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/whos-discus-expert-here-ff-com-26628/)

SuperFishFan 07-30-2009 04:00 PM

Who's the Discus expert here at FF.com??

I have kept so many types of tanks over the years but I am not well versed on Discus care.

I am thinking of doing another planted tank (maybe a 60 gal. cube, like the one I already have going) with nothing but a couple pair of Discus(not sure what strain yet), and maybe some freshwater inverts native to the Central / South American regions.

1). what strain do you think are the hardiest and easiest Discus to maintain?

2.) what other fish are a good match for a Discus tank?

Thanks.

Herky 07-30-2009 06:48 PM

I'm not an expert by any means..but I have managed to keep mine alive. I can't answer your question about strains of discus...as mine are some oddball mix that a local breeder had for sale, but as far as other fish I keep mine with angels since their requirements are somewhat similar. They seem to stay out of each others way, and do fine. I also have gouramis and corys in with them and they seem ok so far. If you get discus make sure they like each other before you buy them. Mine seem to hate each other and stay at opposite ends of the tank. If you go with angels and discus together you are going to need a big tank. Not sure I would go with the cube, but like I said I'm not exactly an expert. Discus are very neat fish though. If you can keep them alive...they are worth it.

SuperFishFan 07-30-2009 07:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Herky (Post 220623)