Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Clown Loach Fluff... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/clown-loach-fluff-2643/)

fluffin 01-21-2007 09:15 AM

Clown Loach Fluff...

We have recently purchased a clown loach and today we noticed that it has a white fluffy kind of thing on the right hand side of his face (as you look at him) near his eye and on the left hand side a little bit down the side of his body but not as much as on the right.

It's Sunday and no aquariums are answering their phones so I assume they're shut hence why I signed up here, to see if anyone cold help.

Thank you.

lioness501 01-21-2007 09:30 AM

hi, im no expert but sounds like fungal/bacterial to me? the others on ere have more experience but wat r ur water parameters? r they normal? i believe if it is funus or bacteria, methylene blue will help??? please correct if i am wrong guys.

Lauri 01-21-2007 10:35 AM

What size tank do you have?
Do you test your water?

Could be cotton wool symptoms are..
White spots on mouth, edges of scales, and fins
Cottony growth that eats away at the mouth
Fins disintegrate beginning at the edges
'Saddleback' lesion near the dorsal fin
Fungus often invades the affected skin
Rapid gilling in cases where gills are infected

If these are symtoms treatment is..

Change water
Vacuum gravel
Add aquarium salt
Treat with copper sulfate or antibiotic
Discontinue carbon filtration during treatment