Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Powerheads on a 90g (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/powerheads-90g-263410/)

arnoldrew 09-07-2013 09:25 AM

Powerheads on a 90g

I’m new to saltwater fishkeeping, so I don’t have a lot of experience with powerheads. I bought my 90g saltwater tank off of Craigslist and it came with two powerheads. I had read that it’s generally better to have three (two across the front and one across the back). However, I noticed that my ocellaris and pajama cardinals seemed to be getting blown about quite a bit. I checked the powerheads and two of them are Oceanstreams (1600gph each) and the other is a Koralia 4 (1200gph). That seemed like a bit much, so I cut off one of the Oceanstreams. I’m worried it might still be too much and my poor fish might exhaust themselves swimming against the current. I have at my disposal the previously mentioned powerheads as well as a Koralia 1 (400gph) and a Hydor Nano 425 (425gph). What would be the best combination to use on my tank? I have 2 ocellaris clownfish, 3 pajama cardinalfish, 2 pencil urchins, and 2 small frogspawns (the gooey top parts are about the size of a golf ball).

GwenInNM 09-08-2013 09:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by arnoldrew (Post 2965994)