Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Livebearers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/)
-   -   Mollies dying - brand new to fishkeeping - please help (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/livebearers/mollies-dying-brand-new-fishkeeping-please-260073/)

tashaj 09-02-2013 09:44 AM

Mollies dying - brand new to fishkeeping - please help

Hi there, I would appreciate any help please. I am new to fishkeeping, have been wanting to start for a long time and only just took the plunge. I will relay as much information as I have and hopefully someone can give me advice. Please forgive my new-ness to fishkeeping (and don't laugh/abuse if I sound totally stupid) :oops:

I bought a 20L ( US 5 gallon?) 'start-up' tropical fish tank kit at the recommendation of my local aquarium which came with 2 liverbearers. Kit includes:

* Bar filter for 50L tank (9 gallon?) (kept on low as recommended by store keepers)
* heater for 100 - 150L tank (26 - 39 Gallon) (kept on 27 Celsius (80F)
*gravel, plastic plant, ornament and hidy-log
*water treatment (Aquatopia Water Safe brand)
*tropical fish flakes

I took home the tank and set it all up as per the instructions and let it run for over 48 hours. I am using water from my tap that has been treated as per the instructions on the treatment product that came with the kit. Tank sits on my bench, gets about 30 minutes of indirect cool sunlight approx 7am in the morning which aquarium owners advised would be fine as it would assist my heater get back to temp from the night.

Once it was ready, I then went back to the store and they did a water test (with all the tubes and so forth) and said my water mineral content and the PH was right for keeping livebearers. (I am sorry I don't have any of these details as I only have a small PH tester kit.)