Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   Fish Store Pet Peeves (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/fish-store-pet-peeves-25976/)

slevin711 07-14-2009 06:19 PM

Fish Store Pet Peeves

Hey Guys!

I am currently a college student but I am doing my best to research starting a fish/pet store and create a plan for the years to come. I would just like input on some pet peeves at fish stores(anything from LFS to walamrt) besides the obvious lack of knowledge with the common employee.

I think I have down most of the basic knowledge of starting a business by now and how to make it successful over time, but being someone who completes everything and goes over every detail, I would really like to hear from some people about ways that most fish stores could be improved.

Thanks in advance guys!

Lupin 07-14-2009 06:53 PM

Welcome to Fishforum.com.

1. Treatment of feeders especially goldfish. They're not even feeders anyway with the heavy thiaminase content blocking entry of vitamins needed by predatory fish.

2. Wrong information from employees.

3. Inadequate supply of meds and food products.

I'll think of more when I come up with them later.:wink:

slevin711 07-14-2009 06:56 PM

What type of meds and products do you see typically missing?

marinebiologist21 07-14-2009 09:20 PM

Not enough food.

E.g- Bloodworms, chopped up earthworms, frozen food, live food, etc.

Also not very good knowledge of the compatibility of fish.

dramaqueen 07-14-2009 09:33 PM

Always being out of stuff I need. And as Lupin said, giving wrong info to customers.

JohnnyD44 07-15-2009 07:33 AM

the horrible, horrible way they stack bettas on shelfs like sandbags....i feel so bad for them everytime I see them

and I 2nd the notion of mis-informaiton to customers.