Tropical Fish Keeping banner

Fish Store Pet Peeves

3K views 17 replies 13 participants last post by  Guppyluver4ever 
#1 ·
Hey Guys!

I am currently a college student but I am doing my best to research starting a fish/pet store and create a plan for the years to come. I would just like input on some pet peeves at fish stores(anything from LFS to walamrt) besides the obvious lack of knowledge with the common employee.

I think I have down most of the basic knowledge of starting a business by now and how to make it successful over time, but being someone who completes everything and goes over every detail, I would really like to hear from some people about ways that most fish stores could be improved.

Thanks in advance guys!

#2 ·
Welcome to Fishforum.com.

1. Treatment of feeders especially goldfish. They're not even feeders anyway with the heavy thiaminase content blocking entry of vitamins needed by predatory fish.

2. Wrong information from employees.

3. Inadequate supply of meds and food products.

I'll think of more when I come up with them later.:wink:

#3 ·
What type of meds and products do you see typically missing?

#12 · (Edited)
I can't speak for the rest but the following meds are vital even if they're not for emergency cases and often are available only in livestock stores, etc. And some meds are restricted in some countries per the laws unless used properly.

Organophosphates (masoten, neguvon, dylox, trichlorfon)
Anchorworms, ergasilus, fish lice, fish leech, gill flukes, skin flukes

Praziquantel
Skin and gill flukes

Maracyn and Maracyn2, Furan, Acriflavine
Aeromonas and Pseudomonas (all bacterial infections such as columnaris and hemorrhagic septicemia)

Levamisole hydrochloride (not base levamisole), Fenbendazole, Flubendazole
Camallanus infestations and other internal parasites

Clove Oil
As anesthetic for surgeries