Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   New to tropical fishkeeping. Advice on stocking a 125litre tank in a hard water area (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-tropical-fishkeeping-advice-stocking-125litre-258802/)

Dan7863 08-31-2013 07:36 AM

New to tropical fishkeeping. Advice on stocking a 125litre tank in a hard water area

Hi I've recently bought a 125litre fish tank, I have pretty much finished the fish less cycle but I'm having trouble finding fish that would thrive in my hard water and I don't want to mess about with ro at the moment as I'm very new to all this. If anyone could give me some stocking suggestions I would be very very greatful!

These are my tank and water specifics,
ammonia - 0ppm
nitrite - 0ppm
nitrate - 40ppm (what is the best way to drop this?)
ph
in tank - 7.8
straight out of tap - 7.8

Tank measurements: width 80cm, height 40cm
as its a wave shape tank the depth differs, narrowest is 30cm and the widest part is 37cm.

I checked on my local water providers website and this is what it says

The water in your area is hard.

To help set your domestic appliances, the water hardness in different units is:
257 mg/l :Calcium Carbonate
102.8 mg/l :Calcium
17.887 C :Degrees Clark
25.7 F :Degrees French
14.598 dH :Degrees German
2.57 mmol/l :MillimolesPrint

Any advice would be welcome.
Thank you
Dan

thekoimaiden 08-31-2013 10:24 AM

Hey Dan! Welcome to the hobby and the forum! Some people see hard water as a curse, but it's not really that bad. There are more than a handful of neat fish that live in hardwater.