Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   newbie seeking reasurance...please (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/newbie-seeking-reasurance-please-258/)

chris1974 08-22-2006 04:17 AM

newbie seeking reasurance...please
 
i filled my 90liter tropical tank on sunday..i used the start-up kit "NTLABS START-OK" from romsey world of water ,Aquasure to get rid of chlorine and add aloe vera (10ml per 50liters) !? then measured dose of Nitrocycle (20 drops per 10 liters) !? ditto measure dose of filterbugs (2 drops per 10 liters)!?

i have to add filter bugs (2 drops per 10 liters)!? everyday untill the little bottle runs out (EVEN once fish added) and was told i could add a couple of platys after 7 days of this!

sound right to you guys?? :?

cheers all from a total newb
:)
ive just tested the nitrite's and still showing 0ppm (guy in shop said it will go up then come back down? )

SKAustin 08-22-2006 07:02 AM

Sounds like a few too many chemical additives. The usual result of an LFS trying to make a quick buck. The only chemical you should be adding to your tank is a dechlorinator, and ammonia if you are choosing to go the Fishless Cycle route. Since it sounds like you are relying on cycling products to cycle your tank, you should know that any bacteria added from these products will quickly die off without a proper food source ie fish waste or other ammonia source. It is my humble opinion that nearly all cycling products are a waste of money. Best bet for future reference, learn about the Cycle, and use filter squeezings from an established tank in place of cycling chemicals/additives.

Your nitrites will remain at 0ppm until the Nitrosomonas bacteria are able to survive and colonize within the tank. Without a source of food (ammonia) for these bacteria, they will not develop.

chris1974 08-22-2006 09:17 AM

do i understand this correctly,am i right in saying i dont nessaserily need an airpump and airstone because the flow of water through the filter will airiate the tank enough??

or should i really get a airpump/stone in there aswell?

also i didnt plan on getting "real" plants . or should i??

thanks for your help in advance

SKAustin 08-22-2006 10:09 AM

You may not necessarily need a pump with airstone, but you should have one installed even if you choose not to keep it on. Medications, if needed, algae blooms, and bacterial blooms can reduce the amount of oxygen inthe tank and lead to suffocation of the fish. If you dont want the constant bubbling in the tank, I would get the pump, stone, and a valve, and keep the pump on a very light flow of bubbles. Then in the event of a problem, just increase the flow of air.

Nick 08-22-2006 03:31 PM

I would recommend REAL plants in your tank. the reason for that is when your tank is cycled your NITRATE'S will go up. And sometimes really high, and plants can help contain those nitrates because the plants 'eat' the nitrates.

chris1974 08-22-2006 03:37 PM

should i have the lights on in the tank while fishless cycling??

i will get plants for the reasons given by flattrack23 (thankyou) :idea:

Nick 08-22-2006 03:39 PM

I'm not exactly sure about the lights on during cycling. But if I remember the lights should be on. I may be wrong if I am than someone PLEASE reassure me. Thanks

Nick

SKAustin 08-22-2006 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by flattrack23
I would recommend REAL plants in your tank. the reason for that is when your tank is cycled your NITRATE'S will go up. And sometimes really high, and plants can help contain those nitrates because the plants 'eat' the nitrates.

Live plants do help to consume Nitrates, but have additional needs including Co2, Lighting, and plant foods. inproperly cared for plants will begin to die off and deteriorate causing Nitrates to skyrocket to unbelieveable levels and ultimatly leading to a bacterial bloom, followed by and algea bloom.

Nick 08-22-2006 05:34 PM

Yes that is true. But having a few plants doesnt mean you need CO2? if you have a fully planted tank yes CO2 is needed. And you dont necessarly need plant food either. I have a lot of plants in my tank and never had CO2 or gave them plant food and none have ever died. Just a thought. A few plants wont hurt. And by all means im not trying to argue with you with everything Steve. Just giving my imput. 8)

Nick

joeshmoe 08-22-2006 05:38 PM

i just use some cycle a fretlizer


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2