Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Lake sand as a substrate? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/lake-sand-substrate-255754/)

Texan 08-26-2013 09:46 PM

Lake sand as a substrate?

Hi - total newbie here.

Just acquired a 100 gal tank, planning on taking it slowly to build a planted community tank!

I've read through a number of threads on substrates and the relative advantages/disadvantages of sand v gravel etc. I favor sand.

Now, I've seen recommendations for pool filter sand, play sand, black sand et al.

I have easy access to a man-made lake, some 50 years old, which has sandy shores. Fish seem to thrive in the lake! Are ther any potential problems with using 2" of this sand in the bottom of my tank?

marshallsea 08-26-2013 09:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texan (Post 2889938)
Hi - total newbie here.

Just acquired a 100 gal tank, planning on taking it slowly to build a planted community tank!

I've read through a number of threads on substrates and the relative advantages/disadvantages of sand v gravel etc. I favor sand.

Now, I've seen recommendations for pool filter sand, play sand, black sand et al.

I have easy access to a man-made lake, some 50 years old, which has sandy shores. Fish seem to thrive in the lake! Are ther any potential problems with using 2" of this sand in the bottom of my tank?

Would this happen to be Texoma?

pennyls9332 08-26-2013 09:57 PM

i use sand in my tanks and love the ease and cleanliness of it. the only problems i can think of is the bacteria and parasites it can harbor.

newtchaplin 08-27-2013 02:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texan (Post 2889938)
Hi - total newbie here.