Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Filtration help with 45 gal hex (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/filtration-help-45-gal-hex-25387/)

Romad 06-28-2009 02:57 PM

Filtration help with 45 gal hex

Hi all,

Just joined the forum today after my bi-weekly water change. I'm new to this fishy thing and have had a fully cycled tank for approx. 3 months. My bf bought me a 45 gal hex tank for christmas and altho i love the looks of it, I think my filtration system could be better. I feed my fish sparingly (what they can eat under two mins) twice daily with a variety of flakes and micro-pellets. Still the amount of crap that comes out of the gravel is more than I would expect.

I have a Penquin bio-wheel 200 and like the idea of the bio filtration but the problem is that I can't move up to the bio 300 or higher because of the shape of my tank. Each side is only 12" wide and the larger models of the bio filters require 16" of hanging space.

Having said that, I'm not married to the bio-wheel type filter; I just want the best filtration so that my fish thrive.

My family consists of:

4 serpae tetras
4 green tiger barbs
3 pristella tetra
3 emperor tetra
2 rainbow bosmani (sp?)
3 small albino catfish
1 algae eater

Anyone else out there with a hex that has a kick-butt system?

Thanks and looking forward to being part of the community :lol:

sean117Ply 07-01-2009 04:40 AM

How about just an large internal filter, or even a canister filter?

Romad 07-01-2009 06:49 AM

Thanks. I'm reading up on the diff. types. Just wondering if anyone has the same tank and what they're using.

On a better note, we noticed that the intake tube wasn't set for optimum "sucking". We'll see if that helps.

Tyyrlym 07-01-2009 08:00 AM