Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Is it really worth it? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/really-worth-25191/)

sean117Ply 06-23-2009 09:10 AM

Is it really worth it?

So I've been keeping freshwater fish for over 7 years now and haven't really stepped into the world of saltwater other then having a look at them at the aquarium, but now I have an empty 29g and a multitude of possibilities.

I have been thinking about trying marine for the first time but the more I research the more I wonder if its worth all the hassle.

-More expensive (although the fish aren't that much more expensive)
-So much more equipment
-The water parameters (calcium, phosphate etc)
-Quarantine tank
-The overall maintenance
-Algae all over the place (I HATE algae, makes me cringe)

With my freshwater fish (discus) all I have to do is a 50% water change a week and a clean out of the canister every couple of months, the tank stays crystal clean; no algae, no debris, very clear. Its not that simple with marine? Is the weekly maintenance really that much more then fresh? I've had times where I just couldn't be stuffed cleaning the tank and left it for a couple of weeks, is that a bad idea with a marine tank?

If I go ahead and set up a marine tank would I get away with... a canister filter, heater, power head, light, live rock and a nitrate remover? I don't want a protein skimmer because I wouldn't be able to put the hood on. The only fish I would have would be a couple of clowns and a Dotti-back (name?) tops 4 fish.

I just don't know if it's worth it :roll:

SKAustin 06-23-2009 09:38 AM