Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Catfish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/)
-   -   Plecos Question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/catfish/plecos-question-24700/)

MrWynO14 06-09-2009 06:37 PM

Plecos Question

I'm new to the whole aquarium scene and just got a spotted plecostomus. I have only had him for a day. He's about 3 or 4 inches long, and i notice that he has been staying between the glass and the heater. The heater is set to 80 degrees. Is staying by the heater going to be a problem for him? I think he uses it as a place to kind of hide. Write back, thanx.

aunt kymmie 06-09-2009 10:47 PM

I don't think it'll be a problem. Does he have any other spots he can "hide" in the tank??
PS. Welcome to the forum!

MrWynO14 06-10-2009 05:40 AM

Yea, he has this rock he can go under also. He's been more active today, all around the tank actually! Plus he doesn't bug anyone, so they don't bug him! :lol:

MrWynO14 06-10-2009 11:59 PM

A lot of cichlid stick bits fall to the bottom of the tank. Would the plecos eat this? Or is it necessary to get him some algae wafers?

aunt kymmie 06-11-2009 11:20 AM

In my experience in keeping plecos if it's there they'll eat it. They are the vacuum cleaners of the fish world. I keep a bristlenose and my sole reason for getting him was their reputation as "vegetarians" who consume algae without damaging plants in the process. My BN goes to town on the algae but he's also all over the bloodworms, beefheart, or anything else he can get his mouth on. Because of this propensity for eating anything I thought I had purchased a mislabeled fish but he's topped out at 3 1/2". I think all plecos appreciate (some require) a piece of driftwood to gnaw on and algae wafers.

MrWynO14 06-11-2009 09:05 PM