Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   New to the hobbie, any advise will help (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/new-hobbie-any-advise-will-help-24498/)

saltydoggunny 06-03-2009 02:53 AM

New to the hobbie, any advise will help

Hello all, I'm new to the hobbie. I have researched and read a lot but you could never have enough info and that is why I will take any advise. Here is what I have so far. 30 gal tank (24"L X 16"W X 17"H), CPR BAK-PAK 2R w/ protien skimmer, Hydor Koralia circ pump #2, Hydor THEO heater 200W, Coralife Lunar Aqualight Deluxe 24", 45 LBS live sand, 50 LBS of lve rock. I just set it up today and I understand that it has to cycle for about 6 to 8 weeks. I'm planning on this being a reef tank. Any advise on equipment that I should add or remove would be helpfull. Also any advise on what to expect or what I should do in the meantime while the tank is cycling would also be helpfull. I want to thank everyone in advance for your help.

Pasfur 06-04-2009 05:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by saltydoggunny (Post 201007)
I just set it up today and I understand that it has to cycle for about 6 to 8 weeks. I'm planning on this being a reef tank.