Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Looking for help stocking an aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/looking-help-stocking-aquarium-244314/)

TCS1975 08-09-2013 12:14 PM

Looking for help stocking an aquarium

I am somewhat new to fish keeping and am looking to start an aquarium. I am looking at a 36 bow front tank and am considering getting the following fish for it:

1 Acei Cichlid
2 Angelfish
3 Zebra Danios
1 Clown Pleco
1 Pictus Catfish
1 Rainbow Shark

I have tried to mix different level swimmers, a variety of interesting species of like sizes, and a variety of personalities in this tank. My hope is that being of similar sizes (except the danios, which should rely on speed), the fish will leave each other alone.

With this grouping, I have a few questions:
1. Will they play nicely together? If not, what needs to go, and what comparable fish could replace it?
2. Will the tank comfortably hold them all when they reach maturity? If not, how many/what should I remove?
3. If the zebra danios will survive this semi-aggressive tank, and if the tank will hold all these fish comfortably, would you get 1-2 more danios to create a slightly larger school?
4. How would you recommend decorating it? An even blend of rocks and plants? Heavy rocks/plants? Dense/open?

Thank you for all your input and help. I am trying to create a beautiful habitat for my 3 year old daughter and me to enjoy as a "family" pet to care for and add beauty. And she loves fish!

nicolaas 08-09-2013 03:30 PM

Hi and welcome to TFK

I'd say leave the acei,angels and pictus and bump up the danios to 10.

The acei will kill all the other fish.