Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Low/different ph in two tanks (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/low-different-ph-two-tanks-2432/)

hayvennsfish 01-12-2007 06:40 PM

Low/different ph in two tanks

Hi, i'm a totally newbie here, so any advice would be much appreciated. I have one 10 and one 29 gallon tank, both freshwater, both with fake plants and driftwood. I had my water tested today at the lfs ... the ph in both my tanks is different, and both are low. The ph in my tapwater is about 6.2 ... the tanks were only a little better than that. Any advice for bringing the ph back up? all other readings were ok except .25 ammonia, which i'm dealing with using Prime by seachem. Water is at 80-81 in both tanks.

Lupin 01-12-2007 08:36 PM

Hi and welcome aboard.:wave:

Your driftwood is the cause of low pH as they leach tannins in your tank.:) What are your fish? Most of the fish will tolerate low pH. If your fish are mostly livebearers, that's bad news as most of them don't thrive long. Don't fiddle with the pH without knowing what your fish are.

hayvennsfish 01-12-2007 09:29 PM

fish are

I'm currently housing 2 Dwarf Gouramis (one in 10 gallon alone and other in the 29) also in the 29 are 2 mollies (1 reg. and one lyretail, both dalmations) 1 rosy barb 5 zebra danios, and 1 albino cory cat.
I sort of suspected the driftwood ... though I do love the look of it, I won't keep it if it's harming my fish. What about using crushed shell in my filter instead of removing the driftwood? Though I think I'd have to moniter the ph far too much ....