Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Cycling-- Filter or no filter... (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/cycling-filter-no-filter-24266/)

bigk_54 05-26-2009 06:34 AM

Cycling-- Filter or no filter...
 
Ok I started cycling my 20g tank, I have a Penguin 200 on it. Do I put the filter in while Im cycling? It's been awhile since I did my 55g. Thanks for the help!

Lupin 05-26-2009 06:36 AM

If you still have the 55g, transfer some of the filter media of 55g to your 20g to instantly cycle the tank.

bigk_54 05-26-2009 10:07 AM

Oh never thought about that! But what do I move? My filters are 2 diff sizes, I do have some carbon that has been in there for about week/week half will that do any good?

Byron 05-26-2009 10:56 AM

Set your tank up the way you want it with everything except fish. Filter, heater, plants, rock, wood...whatever. Then you add a source of ammonia to start the cycle. Media from an existing filter on a cycled tank will jump-start the cycling, but the bacteria will die off if you don't provide ammonia immediately to feed the bacteria. I always put in a fish or two, and dose the tank with "Cycle" (there are other similar biological products) which does the same as the filter media. Some prefer fishless cycling and use fish food for the ammonia; add flake food the same as you would if the fish were in the tank, and as the food decomposes the bacteria will multiply. But the ammonia source has to be maintained throughout the cycling period, i.e., add flake food every day, or if you use a fish it will produce ammonia.

bigk_54 05-26-2009 11:10 AM

Yeah I know all that stuff, that is how I did my 55g tank (which was my first) I waited about a month then put 2 zebra's in there and bam it went through full cycle and up and running. From what Lupin said though, can I put the carbon from my 55g in there, will that do any good? I've got down the whole cycle process I was just asking if I put a brand new filter in while I cycle or not and didn't even cross my mind about putting something from other tank in there

Byron 05-26-2009 11:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigk_54 (Post 198949)
Yeah I know all that stuff, that is how I did my 55g tank (which was my first) I waited about a month then put 2 zebra's in there and bam it went through full cycle and up and running. From what Lupin said though, can I put the carbon from my 55g in there, will that do any good? I've got down the whole cycle process I was just asking if I put a brand new filter in while I cycle or not and didn't even cross my mind about putting something from other tank in there

Filter media is anything that is in the filter, so putting media from an existing filter will jump-start the cycle as I said. But it does not instantly cycle the tank, it still take 2-8 weeks. The jump-start, whether it be filter media, gravel, or "Cycle" type biological stuff just makes it smoother provided there is ammonia in the tank.

Personally, I (and several others on this forum) do not use carbon in regular filtration. It serves no real purpose and may be detrimental to the biological cycle, in my view. Certainly in a tank with live plants, carbon should never be used; it removes nitrates.

bigk_54 05-26-2009 11:31 AM

Byron thanks for all the help! I realized that it wasn't going to instant cycle. I use stress zyme to start off my tank with. I didn't use carbon until just a bit ago, I was having some water problems and guy at LFS told me to try some and see what it would do, other than that haven't ever used it! Ill just stick with letting my tank go through cycle like I did with my first fish tank, as I say feeding my gravel :)

BUT..... Do I still need to put the filter cartridge in the filter? I have the penguin 200 so it has a bio wheel just need to know if I have to put the filter in.... Thanks for all your help

Byron 05-26-2009 12:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigk_54 (Post 198957)
Byron thanks for all the help! I realized that it wasn't going to instant cycle. I use stress zyme to start off my tank with. I didn't use carbon until just a bit ago, I was having some water problems and guy at LFS told me to try some and see what it would do, other than that haven't ever used it! Ill just stick with letting my tank go through cycle like I did with my first fish tank, as I say feeding my gravel :)

BUT..... Do I still need to put the filter cartridge in the filter? I have the penguin 200 so it has a bio wheel just need to know if I have to put the filter in.... Thanks for all your help

You're welcome. Guess I can't answer this last question, since I have no experience with the Penguin filter. But if it will fit, and you have ammonia in the tank, go for it.

bigk_54 05-26-2009 01:09 PM

no no Im talking about the filter that came with it. A brand new one, do I need that in while cycling

Byron 05-26-2009 02:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigk_54 (Post 198975)
no no Im talking about the filter that came with it. A brand new one, do I need that in while cycling

Yes, of course. The filter is an integral part of cycling the tank. I thought I'd answered this earlier when I said to set up the tank with everything (filter, heater...) except fish. Then add ammonia and the cycling starts.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2