Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cyprinids and Atherinids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cyprinids-atherinids/)
-   -   Dwarf Neon Rainbows interested in breeding them (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cyprinids-atherinids/dwarf-neon-rainbows-interested-breeding-them-24171/)

Tigerfish 05-23-2009 09:49 AM

Dwarf Neon Rainbows interested in breeding them

Hello everyone,

I have a 28 gal newly established tank of 3 wks, I first added 1 male betta and yesterday added 2 dwarf neon rainbows to the tank. My main interest after the tank has been established to add more rainbows to the school ( more females to ratio of males), and make the partments right for breeding. Any suggestions? This is my first time taking care of rainbows and want then to live a healthy life.

Thank you for all the input

TigerFish

IonBaller07 05-23-2009 10:13 AM

Well I dont know how to breed them but if you do you might not want to buy many more, because youll need room for the future fry.

Tigerfish 05-23-2009 11:14 AM

IonBallar,
How many more rainbows should I get to make room for the fry? Also do you know anyone here in the fourms who would know how to breed rainbows?

Thank you

Tigerfish 05-31-2009 03:25 PM

Hi ppl!
New to the forum, at the moment my 28 gal tank has been setup 4wks now!

My Question: What is the best way to breed rainbowfish? The setup?, What should I use for the eggs anchor?, What ratio of fish per my size tank?, What should I feed the parents and fry? All experiences would be very helpful as I am new to taking care of rainbows.

So far have added total of 3 fish:
1 male crowntail betta
2 pair of neon dwarf rainbowfish
and 2 plants.

Tank in the cycling process has diatoms or brown algae, cleaning the sides everyday. Parameters: Amm: 0 Nitrite: 0 PH: 7.6 and Nitrate: reads 0 (test kit exp.) Temp is 77-80 due to sun light