Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   New Tank/powerhead setup (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/new-tank-powerhead-setup-24134/)

JerzeeFishies 05-21-2009 07:25 PM

New Tank/powerhead setup

First of all, I am new to the marine aquarium world and new to fishforum. I have a newly cycled tank (45 Gallon Bowfront) with 5 new inhabitants. 3 Saddleback Clowns, 1 Hippo Tang and 1 Flame Angelfish. I am currently using a CA 1800 Powerhead (650 gph) and about to upgrade to a Wavemaker (800 gph). I was wondering if this is good, bad, ugly? I do not currently have any coral in the tank however once everything is stable and my coil denitrator is broken in (my do it yourself project), I would like to. So to get back on track, is the CA 1800 good to stick with? Would the Wavemaker (800 gph) be too much for the 45 Gal bowfront? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

JerzeeFishies

onefish2fish 05-21-2009 09:29 PM

your tank is overstocked IMO. the hippo is the biggest issue. plans for upgrades? what kind of skimmer? lights? other equipment?

ive had 2,000-3,000gph flowing through my 46bowfront when i had it. you dont want sand storms and you want as little dead spots in the tank. disrupting the surface with the flow is good too.

im interested in hearing more on your setup. what is this denitrator? do you have a sump? how long has the tank been setup? anything else you can include?

regardless, welcome to the forum. another NJ member :wink:

JerzeeFishies 05-22-2009 05:11 AM

New Tank/Powerhead

1 Attachment(s)