Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Sand substrate might hurt my filter?? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/sand-substrate-might-hurt-my-filter-240641/)

volco 08-04-2013 05:42 PM

Sand substrate might hurt my filter??

1 Attachment(s)
I was wanting to use a sand substrate for my fish tank but after reading up on it I have been hearing that sand is known to hurt the impeller?? Is that really the case and if so is there anything I can do to prevent it or a low budget solution? Please help!

Thank You!

Austin 08-04-2013 05:52 PM

Maybe keep the intake tube far enough from the filter that it won't suck up sand.

volco 08-04-2013 06:25 PM

Not sure what that means exactly I am a noob when it comes to fish tanks sorry lol XD

JDM 08-04-2013 06:27 PM

Ditto.

Cleaned well there is no reason that grit will get in there... but in an HOB it can and will sit in the bottom messing with the impeller. Just turn it off when cleaning and stirring up the bottom.

Jeff.

Boredomb 08-04-2013 06:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JDM (Post 2722217)
Ditto.

Cleaned well there is no reason that grit will get in there... but in an HOB it can and will sit in the bottom messing with the impeller. Just turn it off when cleaning and stirring up the bottom.

Jeff.

Either you can do that or you can get a sponge and place where the screen is on the bottom of the intake.

Austin 08-04-2013 06:49 PM

***I meant keep the intake far enough from the sand... Haha sorry. I just mean keep the tube that sucks up the water a few inches above the sand. Maybe more f you have fish that will stir it up. And the other suggestions are great too.

volco 08-04-2013 07:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Austin (Post 2722377)