Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   TFK.com Suggestions and Feedback (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tfk-com-suggestions-feedback/)
-   -   Reorganizing Fish and Plant Profiles (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tfk-com-suggestions-feedback/reorganizing-fish-plant-profiles-240122/)

spreadtoothinly 08-03-2013 06:48 PM

Reorganizing Fish and Plant Profiles

Hello everyone,
I'm relatively new here, and a total newbie to the hobby. I've been using this site to look up plant and fish species to consider (I THINK I've found what I'm looking for). While looking I've come up with some suggestions that I think would make the profiles MUCH easier to navigate.
I could be missing something obvious here, but from what I've found, you have to search for their (fish or plant) name. I think it would be nice if you could make a chart or something that tells what kind of fish/plants would work for various water parameters. Or when you go to where you now have the "search profiles" bar, have that, but also (below probably) a list of a pic of the fish, the name (common and scientific), and then boxes for the preferred pH, Hardness, and temperature. And maybe even minimum tank suggestion.
Also I think maybe a link at the top to this (or something like this one.) Tropical Fish Profiles.
Or what would be really cool, you could type in your pH and hardness, and it would give you a list (pics and names) of suitable fish.
This is just an idea of what *I* think would make the profiles easier to use, and I hope you will consider it.
Have a good day!:-D

djembekah 08-03-2013 08:26 PM

that's a cool an interesting idea! i like it.

ChuckinMA 08-04-2013 06:59 AM

That's a great suggestion. We do see many postings requesting stocking recommendations.