Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   New here: Lighting question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-here-lighting-question-23906/)

Kratz 05-12-2009 08:10 PM

New here: Lighting question

I'm a newbie to this site, and this is my first post. I have some lighting questions. I'm very experienced with tanks, but this is my first venture into quality lighting.

I have a 150 that I'm wanting to put some good lighting on. I'm wanting to go with a t5 system. The tank is moderately planted, but I also have some very colorful fish in there. I'm wanting to get a system that promotes plant growth, but also enhances color.

Most of the lights I'm finding in my price range are the 384 watt systems that are 10-12K bulbs, or half actinic.

All the reading I've done says that the red spectrum bulbs around 5k are the best for color enhancement.

Is there a t5 package that's good for moderate planting AND color enhancement? Should I look for something that is half 12k bulbs and half reds, or is that even available?

Any advice or help would be much appreciated.

Fishin Pole 05-13-2009 07:09 AM

I dont recal seeing any lighting setup with red bulbs (5K)..........Only thing i could suggest is buy the setup you like and replace the bulbs into a combo setup with 5K bulbs.............

Byron 05-13-2009 11:30 AM