Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   New fish, new fish tank (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/new-fish-new-fish-tank-23776/)

mtilton 05-08-2009 08:30 PM

New fish, new fish tank

1 Attachment(s)
I'm a beginner fish keeper. I bought a ten gallon tank about three days ago. I have the filter (of course), the air pump with an air stone, thermometer, and a submersible heater. I put TetraAqua AquaSafe in the water to take care of the chlorine/chloramine. According to instructions, 1 teaspoon for every 10 gallons of water.

I bought two new fish today and one of them is already staying at the bottom of the tank. I know a little bit about nitrogen cycling but not that much. Please tell me how I can save it!

I don't even know what kind they are. This was before I released them into the tank. I floated it in the water for about 10-15 minutes. Please identify! Do one or both of them need a heater? Thank you.

froglady 05-08-2009 08:33 PM

These look like platties.

whitedevil 05-08-2009 08:38 PM

they need heaters around 78 degrees

froglady 05-08-2009 08:55 PM

whitedevil is right have to have heat 78 degrees.

mtilton 05-08-2009 08:56 PM

Does anybody know how long it takes for the Start Right or AquaSafe to de-chlorinate the water. Can it be used immediately? I want to try to do a significant water change. If I replaced about 50% of the water, would that help? Or could it be the "new tank" syndrome? Help!

jeaninel 05-08-2009 09:39 PM

The AquaSafe will work immediately.

Have you read up on the nitrogen cycle? Here's a link for you to read. The Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle