Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Question about filtering a 30gal (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/question-about-filtering-30gal-23292/)

PCast66 04-21-2009 11:14 AM

Question about filtering a 30gal

Hello, Im relatively new to aquariums, I have had many pets over the years but never really set up a full aquarium(had a salt water tank in my house when I was younger but never really maintained it). I have a 10 gallon tank right now with a few fish in it, and my friend just gave me 2 Gourami's and 2 Lyretail Mollies because he could no longer keep them. Before that all I had in the tank were 3 angels, an iridescent shark, and a clown pleco. So anyway now my 10 gallon tank is too small to hold all these fish obviously, so I want to put them in my old 30 gallon tank, but the filter for that (a hagen aquaclear) is missing so I wanted to know if my corner filter would be able to filter the water well enough for the next week and a half or so until I can buy a bigger filter? It works just fine for my 10 but I dont want the ammonia or anything to build up when I switch them to the 30. Sorry for the long post, I wanted to be as detailed as possible. Thank you!

1077 04-21-2009 11:40 AM