Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Does bio zyme work? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/does-bio-zyme-work-232001/)

Bigdawg355 07-22-2013 10:05 PM

Does bio zyme work?
 
Ok so I'm setting up a 10 gallon planted tank with sand substrate for my Cory's and golden dojo loaches. I got a couple questions, 1) what's the best way to cycle this set up, 2) with or without the plants and 3) does bio zyme actually do anything or would it be a waist of money?
Posted via Mobile Device

NewFishFiend 07-22-2013 11:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigdawg355 (Post 2617593)
Ok so I'm setting up a 10 gallon planted tank with sand substrate for my Cory's and golden dojo loaches. I got a couple questions, 1) what's the best way to cycle this set up, 2) with or without the plants and 3) does bio zyme actually do anything or would it be a waist of money?
Posted via Mobile Device

Is this your first tank? If not you can get some media from your other established tanks. If that is not an option than you could either fishless cycle (my recommendation) with pure ammonia from the hardware store (shake it, it should NOT bubble). Or you could go with fish-in cycle. I have no faith in anything from a bottle. Maybe it does add "beneficial" bacteria, but nothing ina bottle is gonna actually age your tank. Only time. I suggest doing a fishless cycle with ammonia. Takes about 4 weeks or so.

Bigdawg355 07-23-2013 12:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NewFishFiend (Post 2618106)
Is this your first tank? If not you can get some media from your other established tanks. If that is not an option than you could either fishless cycle (my recommendation) with pure ammonia from the hardware store (shake it, it should NOT bubble). Or you could go with fish-in cycle. I have no faith in anything from a bottle. Maybe it does add "beneficial" bacteria, but nothing ina bottle is gonna actually age your tank. Only time. I suggest doing a fishless cycle with ammonia. Takes about 4 weeks or so.

It's not my first one but I have hob filters so not sure how I would go about getting the media, I am still rather new to fish keeping tho, about 5 weeks
Posted via Mobile Device

Bigdawg355 07-23-2013 01:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NewFishFiend (Post 2618106)
Is this your first tank? If not you can get some media from your other established tanks. If that is not an option than you could either fishless cycle (my recommendation) with pure ammonia from the hardware store (shake it, it should NOT bubble). Or you could go with fish-in cycle. I have no faith in anything from a bottle. Maybe it does add "beneficial" bacteria, but nothing ina bottle is gonna actually age your tank. Only time. I suggest doing a fishless cycle with ammonia. Takes about 4 weeks or so.

And also would the ammonia hurt the plants in the higher range
Posted via Mobile Device

JDM 07-23-2013 09:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigdawg355 (Post 2617593)
Ok so I'm setting up a 10 gallon planted tank with sand substrate for my Cory's and golden dojo loaches. I got a couple questions, 1) what's the best way to cycle this set up, 2) with or without the plants and 3) does bio zyme actually do anything or would it be a waist of money?
Posted via Mobile Device

Depending on the plants and numbers of fish, you may be able to skip the cycle setup. Otherwise, if you are going to specifically cycle it, then I would suggest to do it without the plants.

Biozyme, if it's like others, requires you to keep adding more so it is actually a temporary ammonia oxidizing bacteria source to handle the ammonia created while cycling with fish in. The permanent cycle will take longer to get going using a temporary product.

Best is to go fishless with either the pure ammonia method or controlled fishfood additions... either way, keep the ammonia levels close to 1ppm either through addition of ammonia to that level or water changes to reduce it to that level with the food method.

Don't mess with using other media as all you do is mess with the other tank's cycle. You definitely don't need it to start anything. I did a cycle in a jar with water and fish food only... worked like a charm... full cycle in 7 days.

If you decide to add the plants and keep the ammonia near 1ppm, I doubt it will harm them at all.

Jeff.

Bigdawg355 07-23-2013 12:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JDM (Post 2620034)
Depending on the plants and numbers of fish, you may be able to skip the cycle setup. Otherwise, if you are going to specifically cycle it, then I would suggest to do it without the plants.

Biozyme, if it's like others, requires you to keep adding more so it is actually a temporary ammonia oxidizing bacteria source to handle the ammonia created while cycling with fish in. The permanent cycle will take longer to get going using a temporary product.

Best is to go fishless with either the pure ammonia method or controlled fishfood additions... either way, keep the ammonia levels close to 1ppm either through addition of ammonia to that level or water changes to reduce it to that level with the food method.

Don't mess with using other media as all you do is mess with the other tank's cycle. You definitely don't need it to start anything. I did a cycle in a jar with water and fish food only... worked like a charm... full cycle in 7 days.

If you decide to add the plants and keep the ammonia near 1ppm, I doubt it will harm them at all.

Jeff.

The bio zyme is one you add a little everyday the lady at pets barn said that's what they use in store. As far as plants go all I have is a few trimmings from my 55 gallon tank so maybe I can just put them back in that tank til the ten is cycled. And as for as using straight ammonia to cycle does it take a lot of ammonia to get the levels up? Oh the plants I have as of now are Camboda and moneywort but think wanna put some micro swords as well
Posted via Mobile Device

JDM 07-23-2013 12:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigdawg355 (Post 2620866)
The bio zyme is one you add a little everyday the lady at pets barn said that's what they use in store. As far as plants go all I have is a few trimmings from my 55 gallon tank so maybe I can just put them back in that tank til the ten is cycled. And as for as using straight ammonia to cycle does it take a lot of ammonia to get the levels up? Oh the plants I have as of now are Camboda and moneywort but think wanna put some micro swords as well
Posted via Mobile Device

If you were going to add fish right away, the biozyme might work for you. If you have a mass of moneywort and cabomba that will actually do the same thing. The store will use that stuff in a new fish tank as they bring in stock as they need the extra boost to their cycle do to heavy fishloads. Their tanks must have a hard time coping with the varying loads otherwise.

If you are flexible in when you add fish you have options here. Toss in more plants than you want for now, add one species of fish, the smaller load of the two. Let stand for a few weeks, monitor the water. If ammonia creeps up add more plants, some biozyme or just change some water and use Prime. Let the plants grow and add the second batch of fish after everything has settled down, it may not do anything anyway as long as you have enough plants. Continue to monitor the water and treat as needed if needed.

The cycle will still develop in the background so you can trim out plants later if they get too out of hand.

If you need to drop in all fish at once, completely cycle with ammonia empty, then toss in plants and fish.

It won't take a lot of ammonia for a ten, a couple of ml likely but if you go too little, add more, if you go too much, change the water. You'll figure out how much you need pretty quick. Just keep it around 1ppm right through until you see the nitrites drop to zero and the nitrates start appearing.

Jeff.

Bigdawg355 07-23-2013 01:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JDM (Post 2620954)
If you were going to add fish right away, the biozyme might work for you. If you have a mass of moneywort and cabomba that will actually do the same thing. The store will use that stuff in a new fish tank as they bring in stock as they need the extra boost to their cycle do to heavy fishloads. Their tanks must have a hard time coping with the varying loads otherwise.

If you are flexible in when you add fish you have options here. Toss in more plants than you want for now, add one species of fish, the smaller load of the two. Let stand for a few weeks, monitor the water. If ammonia creeps up add more plants, some biozyme or just change some water and use Prime. Let the plants grow and add the second batch of fish after everything has settled down, it may not do anything anyway as long as you have enough plants. Continue to monitor the water and treat as needed if needed.

The cycle will still develop in the background so you can trim out plants later if they get too out of hand.

If you need to drop in all fish at once, completely cycle with ammonia empty, then toss in plants and fish.

It won't take a lot of ammonia for a ten, a couple of ml likely but if you go too little, add more, if you go too much, change the water. You'll figure out how much you need pretty quick. Just keep it around 1ppm right through until you see the nitrites drop to zero and the nitrates start appearing.

Jeff.

I'm in no real hurry to put fish in the Cory's are in my 55 right now. But the platys and Molly's are destroying my moneywort and up rooting the camboda they seem to leave the amazon sword alone. So I can let it cycle just wanted to save the plants before they destroy everything
Posted via Mobile Device

Bigdawg355 07-23-2013 06:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JDM (Post 2620954)
If you were going to add fish right away, the biozyme might work for you. If you have a mass of moneywort and cabomba that will actually do the same thing. The store will use that stuff in a new fish tank as they bring in stock as they need the extra boost to their cycle do to heavy fishloads. Their tanks must have a hard time coping with the varying loads otherwise.

If you are flexible in when you add fish you have options here. Toss in more plants than you want for now, add one species of fish, the smaller load of the two. Let stand for a few weeks, monitor the water. If ammonia creeps up add more plants, some biozyme or just change some water and use Prime. Let the plants grow and add the second batch of fish after everything has settled down, it may not do anything anyway as long as you have enough plants. Continue to monitor the water and treat as needed if needed.

The cycle will still develop in the background so you can trim out plants later if they get too out of hand.

If you need to drop in all fish at once, completely cycle with ammonia empty, then toss in plants and fish.

It won't take a lot of ammonia for a ten, a couple of ml likely but if you go too little, add more, if you go too much, change the water. You'll figure out how much you need pretty quick. Just keep it around 1ppm right through until you see the nitrites drop to zero and the nitrates start appearing.

Jeff.

I checked my water parameters at lunch just for fun. My ammonia was 0 my nitrates were between 60 and 80 and nitrites were 0. Only had a few minutes so I just used a test strip, I do have a master kit but takes to long for my lunch break. Is this odd having nitrates already ? Tank hasn't been going but like 40 hrs? Or is it the bio zyme I'm seeing
Posted via Mobile Device

JDM 07-23-2013 08:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigdawg355 (Post 2624578)
I checked my water parameters at lunch just for fun. My ammonia was 0 my nitrates were between 60 and 80 and nitrites were 0. Only had a few minutes so I just used a test strip, I do have a master kit but takes to long for my lunch break. Is this odd having nitrates already ? Tank hasn't been going but like 40 hrs? Or is it the bio zyme I'm seeing
Posted via Mobile Device

Don't know how you would be seeing that sort of level in that short a time. I suspect the test strip may be off. Just wait and do the liquid and see what it says.

Jeff.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2