Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Brackish Water (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/brackish-water/)
-   -   New to Green Spotted Puffers (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/brackish-water/new-green-spotted-puffers-23167/)

Holeintheworld 04-16-2009 11:27 PM

New to Green Spotted Puffers

Hi, I am new to puffers and just got 3. I saw them at a pet store and they looked terrible. They weren't in brackish water, there fins were ripped, and there tails were tucked against them and the stomachs were mostly black and they were with a bunch of tetras. I had an extra 15 gallon at home and took some water from another tank so it was all cycled and a filter, heater, and an airator and got some crushed coarl gravel to keep the pH low (is that ok? I heard they need a low pH and that coral will lower it). I have slowly been changing the water to brackish and they seem to be doing much better. I have been feeding them bloodworms and small snails and am hatching some brine shrimp eggs for them. They are about an inch and a half right now and I know they need a much bigger aquarium soon and plan to get atleast a 30 gallon if not bigger and if I am unable to I will bring them to a really good fish store specializing in fish and reptiles that will take care of them. But for now any pointers on how to keep them happy and healthy would be great!
Thanks!

Holeintheworld 04-17-2009 08:45 AM

Which is better for them aquarium or marine salt a found a few websites that said marine but just wanted to make sure.

iamntbatman 04-22-2009 05:16 PM