Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Silver Molly with swimming difficulties? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/silver-molly-swimming-difficulties-23100/)

SomeoneXSummer 04-14-2009 07:14 PM

Silver Molly with swimming difficulties?

Hello Everyone,
I am new to the world of fish (and the forum) and I hope you all can help me with my silver molly. I got him recently (about a month maybe) and he was fine up until today. He is "swimming" nose down and cant seem to keep himself level. He seems unable to swim and if he gets too close to the bubbler is just pushes him around. (Thats how little he can swim) He doesn't seem to be eating or doing much of anything except just floating where ever the current takes him. My other molly seems just fin as well as the other fish. My tank will be a year old in June if that helps. I do regular 25% water changes (about every two weeks) and I clean the tank bottom regulary. Im not sure what to do? Can I save him?

Thanks to everyone in advance, If you need more info please feel free to ask.

~Summer

Byron 04-15-2009 10:33 AM

In the past I have had fish that suddenly have difficulty swimming, just basically tumbling around, head down or head up when they do "swim" for a few seconds. I've never had such fish recover. I understand several things can cause this, from internal issues (swim bladder trouble), disease, sudden change in water parameters (temperature, pH). Others with more experience with this condition may have suggestions, but I would leave him alone, but recognize it probably will not survive; if it dies, remove it immediately.