Tropical Fish Keeping banner

New 35G - Want to do NPT, Need Help

2K views 18 replies 6 participants last post by  rexpepper651 
#1 · (Edited)
As the title states, I have a new 35g tank that I really would like to set up as an NPT-type tank, but I've never done this before, so... I need help. I honestly have no idea where to start. I have some planted tanks, but algae (black-beard and some diatoms) has been taking those over lately, so I obviously need help with something//everything. I have been reading threads on NPTs; how to set them up, take care of them, etc. but I still want help specifically for this tank. There's only so much you can read up on your own.

The tank itself is 36"X10"X12" (lxwxh)

The only store I have within close reach is a Petco, and their plant selection is sometimes slim, so if you list a selection of plants and/or fish, please keep that in mind!

I would really like the tank to be relatively heavily planted, because I want it to cater to my African Dwarf Frogs. They are my babies, and I want what is best for them. If possible, I would like to have a tank that does not need a filter system. That might just be wishful thinking, but if it's possible, I'd like to do it (if a filter is a must, please tell me the KIND of filter. Links to examples welcomed). Minimum maintenance preferred. I'm a rather busy person, though I do have time to take care of my tank when it is required. I just prefer to avoid high maintenance tanks if I can.

With all that said... post anything and everything you can think will help. Plant and fish suggestions ARE welcome. Anything listed as a maybe is just that. I don't know if I'll go through with it. If others say it is a good stocking choice, I'll do it. If they recommend against it, I definitely won't. Only things I will most likely be stocking are:
3 ADF (possibly 5 at some point in the future)
A shoal of Cories (not sure specific breed or number, probably between 5 and 10)