Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Which water to use? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/water-use-23043/)

Psychmajor 04-13-2009 12:39 PM

Which water to use?

So I plan on starting a brand new saltwater tank. I wanted to know, can I use tap water (removing all of the chlorine, and other bad stuff first) then adding the salt, or should I use store bought distilled water and then add the salt? Which is better? :roll:

candicelee 04-13-2009 01:49 PM

Well, I'm new to the whole aquarium thing, but I read that you have to use reverse osmosis water for salt water tanks.

Psychmajor 04-13-2009 04:49 PM

I have no idea what that means.

Bartman 04-13-2009 07:19 PM

It is a filtration system that uses membranes with filters small enough that only let water molecules through, basically leaving you with pure H2O. They are usually called RO/DI (reverse osmosis, deionized) systems. You can usually find them at home depot or water supply stores, even plumbing shops. It is a definite requirement though, do not use tap water. I did and found out the hard way that I had immediate hair algae growth. I managed to make that go away though after using RO to fill up the tank and purchasing some other products.

Everyone with experience will tell you to start with RO and I found out that hard way, long story lol.

PS: I am no expert but have been researching a lot... Hope that helps!

klosxe 04-13-2009 07:46 PM

agree with the research tidbit, that's the key to any aquarium sucess :-P

Yes RO water is the way to go for sure

I get mine by the gallon from my next door neighbors, Petland 8)