Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   pvc overflow? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-aquarium-equipment/pvc-overflow-22761/)

slick fish 04-03-2009 09:58 PM

pvc overflow?
 
is this a bad idea? i have seen it work . i need to add a sump but my dt is up and running and i cant dril it!
http://i565.photobucket.com/albums/s...vcoverflow.jpg

Kellsindell 04-03-2009 11:45 PM

You won't need the pipe to be so long in the display, a few inch should suffice, you could also use an overflow box and have the pipe in there that way it'll skim the surface of the tank as well... Not sure about this though...

slick fish 04-03-2009 11:59 PM

yea i am sketchy about it to but all the posts where i saw it were good! check it out!!!! i m going to get the pipe today
YouTube - DIY Overflow
tell me what you think and try to get more opinions on this!

slick fish 04-04-2009 12:03 AM

i beleave this one is better and nicer video!!
YouTube - Pvc Overflow Connections

Kellsindell 04-04-2009 12:35 AM

Hm... that's interesting, still not sure why he went with such a long tube within the tank. Kinda seems like overkill and not sure it'll make s diff. Also, with an open tube you may not be able to keep snails and will always run a greater risk of a fish going down the pipe. Perhaps you can put a sponge or a cover like for a hang-on filter.

slick fish 04-04-2009 12:49 AM

plastic canvas i got some left over from when i made my scrubber. i was going to roll it up and glue it in the end of the pipe
http://i565.photobucket.com/albums/s.../testing11.jpg
http://i565.photobucket.com/albums/s...erin20gal2.jpg

Kellsindell 04-04-2009 12:50 AM

That would do the trick...

Did you rub algae on that thing before you put it into the tank?

slick fish 04-04-2009 01:12 AM

i got new pics from day to day to see the diff .its a mazing!!!!! i did not post them yet...., i m tring to get this overflow to work to link the two tanks up!!!

onefish2fish 04-04-2009 02:02 AM

personally i would get another tank and drill it, transfer livestock over just because i like the drilled route.

i suppose this would work but it seems iffy to me. if that ever gets clogged plan on your pump pumping to much water up into the tank, overflowing it and most likely burning out your pump.

onefish2fish 04-04-2009 02:14 AM

it prob. will also be loud but anyways if I was to approach this i would prob. do it like this
http://i444.photobucket.com/albums/q...coverflow1.jpg
i used a 45 instead of all those 90s, its less flow restricting. i also took out the additional pipe with the hole and just included it into the one.

i would prob. also shorten up the ammount thats in the tank like kells said too, it prob. wouldnt hurt to have 2 of these either, just incase one fails.

i dont know if my plan would work, thats just how i would attempt it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2