Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater and Tropical Fish (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/)
-   -   cloudy water please help! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-tropical-fish/cloudy-water-please-help-22643/)

JokerBoyX 03-31-2009 12:51 AM

cloudy water please help!

I just set my tank up 2 days ago and have an algae eater and 2 small fish in it. It is a 30 gallon tank and I have an aquaclear 50 (200 GPH). The tank isnt real cloudy however it has a white fog look to it. I know tanks need to cycle and I am hoping that is all it is. If anyone has any information or ideas for me I would apreciate it. I ran a test kit and all my levels were good. 0 on ammonia, nitrit, nitrate and 7.2 on ph I am very new to this (first tank) so excuse any retard questions or comments I make. Thank you in advance.

Twistersmom 03-31-2009 08:34 AM

All new tank look a little cloudy at first, you do not need to do anything, it should go away on its own in a few days.

JohnnyD44 03-31-2009 05:48 PM

I agree, any new tank that is completly new will be cloudy for a few days. just remember to keep up on your water changes during your cycle

and welcome to the forum!!!!

JokerBoyX 04-03-2009 09:18 AM

the water has since cleared up and is now crystal clear. I think im an aqua clear guy now. my friend has great results with hagen/marineland however I do like the bio options with aqua clear.

JohnnyD44 04-03-2009 09:24 AM

good news! how's your cycle coming along?

JokerBoyX 04-04-2009 11:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnnyD44 (Post 185124)
good news! how's your cycle coming along?

ammonia is at 4.0 lol so its outta wack like it should be (i hope) hehe. however i got the ammonia remover insert for my aquaclear filter tonight. just having trouble fitting it in there with the biomax insert

Byron 04-05-2009 10:32 AM

Quote: