Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Nitrate Question (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/nitrate-question-225866/)

Kristen68 07-13-2013 07:32 PM

Nitrate Question

Hi, this is my first post here.

I have kept one or two comets or shubunkins in a 20 gallon tank for the past 5 years. I was a beginner, have made some mistakes, and still make the occasional mistake. I'm trying to take another step toward being better at this. I enjoy reading and learning about fishkeeping and try to continually improve the conditions for my fish.

I used to use test strips for testing my water and was ignorant about water changes. In the past couple of years I have been better about water changes as I learned the whys and hows of this.

I have a simple set up: 20 gallon tank, tap water from a well, basic filter that hangs off the back. I use plastic plants, have small stone substrate, and have a wonder stone and lava rock as well as a few smaller rocks and shells. I feed flakes, small sinking granules, and brine shrimp. I keep my aquarium light on a timer as it's in a dark part of my apartment; it is on for about 9 hours a day. I sometimes experience a little brown algae; more seldom a little green algae but not nearly as much and usually only if I've been bad about cleaning the glass or decor.

Recently after having a single healthy shubunkin for about 6 months I decided to add one more to the tank. The new fish seemed to settle in fine.

Today while I was out I picked up a Master Test Kit for freshwater tanks. Some of my strips had expired and I knew they were not as accurate and so I'd put off replacing them until I had enough money for this kit. It's been awhile since I have tested some of the levels although I did have a pH kit.