Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Saltwater Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish-diseases/)
-   -   WHITE SPOTS IN COWFISH (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/saltwater-fish-diseases/white-spots-cowfish-2254/)

pescao 01-03-2007 10:17 AM

WHITE SPOTS IN COWFISH

HI GUYS...
I JUST GOT A COWFISH, AND IS MY FIRST FISH IN THE TANK, I'M ALSO NEW TO THIS HOBBY. MY QUESTION IS IF THIS FISH IS SICK OR IF IS NORMAL TO HAVE THOSE WHITE SPOTS OR PIECES OF "SOMETHING" ATTACHED TO IT...
AND IF YOU THINK HE'S SICK, HOW CAN I HELP HIM TO GET BETTER?
HE'S BEEN EATING OK AND SWIMING ALLOVER THE TANK...

Melissa 01-03-2007 10:43 AM

well it sounds like it is more than likely ich. What are your tank conditions, and what is inside your tank (ie. subtrate, rock, decor). This will help us to be able to better help you.

pescao 01-03-2007 11:12 AM

90 GAL TANK
60 LBS OF LIVE ROCK
100 LBS OF LIVE SAND
RUNNING FOR 1 MONTH
PH +/- 8.2
WATER +/- 1.02
ALL AMONIA, NITRATE AND NITRITE TEST CAME OUT LOW...
TEMP 82 F.
PLASTIC CORAL
1- COWFISH
2- CLEANER SHIRMP
4- RED LEG CRABS
1- LARGER CRAB, (DONT REMEMBER THE NAME)

FOR FILTERS I HAVE A WET/DRY WITH BIOBALLS AND A CANISTER. THE WET/DRY ALSO CAME WITH A PROTEIN SKIMMER.

I BOUGHT ALL THE ANIMAL OVER THE WEEKEND, THEY ALL SEEM TO BE OK, BUT THE FISH HAS THOSE WHITE SPOTS THAT I DONT KNOW WHAT IT IS...

THANKS

usmc121581 01-03-2007 12:29 PM

Doesw it look like it was sprinkled from a salt shaker?

pescao 01-03-2007 12:46 PM

YES...
IS ALL OVER HIS BODY AND EVEN ON HIS EYES
IT ALSO SEEMS THAT HE WAS BITTEN ON HIS TAIL CAUSE IS MISSING A PORTION OF IT.

Melissa 01-03-2007 01:01 PM

Your larger crab, what does it look like. This may cause problems in the long run if he is not the right kinds crab. For example, eating your clownfish.