Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Multiple filters on one aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/multiple-filters-one-aquarium-225266/)

fish keeper 2013 07-12-2013 10:59 PM

Multiple filters on one aquarium
 
I am planning to add a new filter to my 10 gallon because I don't really like my current filter and I was wondering if I could run two filter on one tank (I have guppies if it matters). If the current is too strong and I only should have one filter should I swap it immediately or wait a little for bb to colonize it?

NewFishFiend 07-12-2013 11:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fish keeper 2013 (Post 2537018)
I am planning to add a new filter to my 10 gallon because I don't really like my current filter and I was wondering if I could run two filter on one tank (I have guppies if it matters). If the current is too strong and I only should have one filter should I swap it immediately or wait a little for bb to colonize it?

I run 2 filters on my 75 gallon. A cascade 300 and a Marineland penguin 350. I'm of the belief that there is no such thing as too much filtration. Get a filter that will let you adjust the flow and run em both :)

Tracy Bird 07-12-2013 11:27 PM

If you are changing from one filter to another you would want to transfer your "seeded" filter material from the old filter to the new filter.

If you can not transfer the seeded filter material you would need to run both filters for several weeks to allow the new filter to acquire the "seed" from the old filter.

I hope this make sense!!!! :|

You don't mention what type of filter you currently have and what you are replacing it with....

I only use sponge filters on my 10 gallons, no hang on backs or power filters. I love sponge filters...

jaysee 07-12-2013 11:33 PM

I run 2 filters on tanks 4 feet and up. I don't think it's necessary to run 2 filters on a 10 gallon tank though. CAN you? Of course. But a 10 gallon is so small - if you need more than 1 filter to get the job done, then you've got some super weak filters.

What is the old filter and what is the new one?

Agent13 07-13-2013 12:44 AM

what tracy bird said...
but also guppies enjoy a good current so it shouldn't bother them. But how many do you have in there?

fish keeper 2013 07-13-2013 07:56 AM

I don't think I can transfer the seed material cause they are two very different types of filter.

The old one is tetra 10i, it's not that weak but I also have other reasons for changing it.

The new one will be a hang on back, either aqueon or aquaclear.

I have 4 guppies.

Thanks for the replies :)

Tracy Bird 07-13-2013 08:41 AM

You should consider a sponge filter....

ANGELS PLUS sells them seeded - drop them in and go with fish.

http://www.angelsplus.com/

jaysee 07-13-2013 11:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fish keeper 2013 (Post 2538786)
I don't think I can transfer the seed material cause they are two very different types of filter.

The old one is tetra 10i, it's not that weak but I also have other reasons for changing it.

The new one will be a hang on back, either aqueon or aquaclear.

I have 4 guppies.

Thanks for the replies :)

It doesn't matter that they are different - take a pair of scissors to the old one and you'll find a way :-)


Sent from Petguide.com App

fish keeper 2013 07-13-2013 03:37 PM

Well I went out and bought a aqueon quiet flow 10, the two filters won't fit in the hood slot so the hood will have to be crooked for a while. I'll probably just keep it like this until the filter gets established.

One last question, the aqueon filter cartridge has carbon in it and doesn't appear like it can open up, is there any way to get rid of the carbon without ruining the cartridge itself?

Agent13 07-13-2013 03:42 PM

You can take a sharp knife and slice across the top of the cartidge then dump it out. I see no problem leaving it in and then don't worry about replacing it like they tell you to. If you can't fit both filters, then do the same thing with your old biobag from the tetra 10i and stuff that in the back of your new filter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2